Suicide

I’ve met Michelle Whitedove and read a couple of her books. Although I can’t say I’ve ever been a “God’s Plan” person, I do agree with her general perspective. But I think we plan our own lives out prior to coming here, including the possibility of early exits. Those create huge ripples in the lives of those left behind.

Her article does not cover the idea of “assisted suicide” where  the already dying chose to seek assistance to end their pain. Pet owners feel it humane to assist our pets by putting them out of their misery, but I fail to see how humane it is to allow terminally ill people to languish in agony. Would that person really be rejected from Heaven because they couldn’t take the pain any longer? Controversial topic for any believer, to be sure.

Let me know what you think. Does suicide render us inadmissible to Heaven?

http://michellewhitedove.com/suicide.php

2 thoughts on “Suicide

  1. I like to think that when a person commits suicide, the reason is for the lesson that the people left behind have to go through. If as Michelle says, we have “contracts” when we come to this incarnation, then it stands to reason that someone else may be part of that contract. Therefore, the person’s suicide has meaning. Don’t get me wrong, I agree that suicide is never a “way out” of our earthly problems, but I like to think that God is a forgiving God and that no soul is ever barred from his glory forever. We may have to do a little more penance than most other souls when we chose to end our own life, but we are never truly shut out of God’s grace–at least, I hope and pray we’re not.

  2. Revelation 21:4
    He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Leave a Reply

