Playing with the Devil

A new title by Marcus F. Griffin dropped just before the holiday season yielding a story that claims to be a true account of one band’s many encounters with a dark entity through their musical journey.  I had run across this title on several occasions, but I didn’t pick up a copy until a bookstore display practically grabbed me by the arm. This supernatural yarn chronicles the band’s inception to its sad dissolution, at the mercy of a powerful force.

I have to say, some very creepy things happened to these guys, and people connected to them. Stephen King kind of creepy. But if I’d had the time, I would have read it in one sitting.

The more they engaged an entity they referred to as the Gray Man, the greater their work seemed to progress. A group of rock and rollers were kicking ass and gaining recognition. Success seemed imminent. This nameless, faceless man-shaped shadow appeared to protect them, even assist them in strange ways. But with sweet success came sour grapes, and there was price to be paid as the activity ramped up.

I’m not going to drop any spoilers here. This is one of those stories you must-read-to-believe. And I have no doubt that many won’t believe this account to be real. They will claim that the band members were stoned or high on something, hallucinating, or embellishing events under the influence. Those will be the readers who have never encountered such a force.

Believe it. Don’t believe it. That’s free will.

I believed it.

I do not, however, believe it was the Devil they were playing with. I have my own theories. But it was something very powerful and equally dangerous. Playing with the Devil is a cautionary tale of what can happen when you dabble with forces unknown, and how you should respect the power, not piss it off.

2 thoughts on “Playing with the Devil

  1. McCammon’s book is a novel and deals with the dark force of a war damaged veteran. Whereas Griffin’s book is a first person account of his band’s experience with a supernatural being. Similar only in that the characters are in the music business, I think. I’ll have to read The Five to see for sure.

Leave a Reply

