Did You Survive Valentine’s Day?

I’ve never been much of a romantic. Other than a well-worded card (written by someone else), I’ve never fallen into the cheesy chocolate plush toy, balloon tethered to overpriced flowers trap. (But what a stroke of marketing genius, ya?)

When I was single and unattached, Valentine’s Day only served to remind me of what I didn’t have. Now that I’ve been married for many years, I remember how silly that was. A Hallmarkian holiday shouldn’t have the power to define how I felt about myself as a single person.

At the market on Saturday, people were pawing through the greeting cards and flowers as if their lives depended on it. The cards were a mess and the bouquets of flowers overpriced. (When did an average-sized greeting card become $4.99?)

Perhaps the holiday was created so that inarticulate people could manage to say what they felt in their hearts without sounding like bumbling idiots.

Nah. I mean, how hard is it to say “I love you?”

At my house, we don’t have to say it all the time. Ninety percent of all human communication is through body language – expression, gestures, and touch. We do things for each other without complaint and genuinely enjoy each other’s company. We employ honor and respect, patience and understanding. Even if we are in disagreement, we allow the other their say or opinion. And we keep each other in mind when making any decision. Even little things like sharing a treat or going to a favorite place.

The cute trivial stuff can be fun, but completely unnecessary if you have a solid relationship. My husband travels for work and is rarely in town for my birthday, much less has time to shop. But he makes my life possible. My favorite time is when he’s fresh off the road, relaxing in his favorite chair, dog at his feet, home safe. That is the gift.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Did You Survive Valentine’s Day?

  1. Amen! Mom said that everyday should be treated with love and sharing thus not just one day to go all out and show something so heavily priced at the stores. Mom/dad spent the day yesterday with us anipals having fun together. We are like you – that’s what love is about. Just being with each other. There is no price on that. XOXO – Bacon

Leave a Reply

