WWW – Stomatopod

Any of various marine crustaceans of the order Stomatopoda, which includes squilla.

What’s a squilla? Mantis shrimp.

Squilla mantis

Looks like a lobster wearing a headdress of a fly with deer antlers. Creepy looking, but I’m betting tasty with clarified butter.

Yes, I’m having shrimp for dinner. I’m not sure why eating something that looks like a bug doesn’t bother me, yet anything with big eyes and fur bugs me. I do eat mammals, but not ones I have to look in the eye first. Really wish I didn’t have to, but my genetics dictate. I tried to be a vegetarian once and got pretty ill, even before I passed out and got a concussion on the Terrazo floor. My doctor said, “Bad idea with your blood.”

On a snowy day, a little stomatopod soup will go down nicely.

 

 

 

One thought on “WWW – Stomatopod

Leave a Reply

